The city of the Medieval Castle has formed the nucleus of civilization on the Island of Paros since the 4th Millennium BC until the present.
The Castle itself was built by the Venetian Duke of Naxos, Sanoudos (13th century AD) using various remnants of ancient structures. Archaeologists have determined that incorporated within the walls of the castle are elements of three ancient and two classical temples from the ancient city. Of those temples only a small chamber of the Temple of Athena (6th century BC) has been saved, situated at the top of the hill. Near the foundations of what was the temple a portion of a Pre- Cycladic settlement has been discovered.
When exploring the Castle you encounter many tiny churches, many built right into the walls : Panaghia of the Cross (1514), Agia Anna, Aghios Markos, Agios Stylianos and the architectural gem of Aghios Kostantinos with its covered portico, graceful arches and stunning view of the sea. It ranks among the most beautiful churches in the Aegean.